My First #makenine2018 Item: a Megan Nielsen Kelly Skirt

My first #makenine2018 item is a navy Megan Nielsen Kelly skirt. Ever since making my son those navy high tide trousers I have been wanting a skirt in the same fabric. I had intended to self draft a skirt based off a ready-to-wear dress I have. However I stumbled across this pattern on the Love Sewing magazine website and instantly fell in love!

I really enjoyed making this really mine with a few cute details. Firstly, by using a contrasting bias tape to hem the skirt. And by using some vintage buttons. I also lengthened the skirt to sit just on the knee, rather than mini-length.


I am really happy with how this skirt fits me. I would take a tiny bit out of the back waistband another time as I have a tiny bit of gaping there but much better than other waistband designs I’ve tried. I also think this pattern will make a good block for me to alter to make other skirts.

Have you tried a Megan Nielsen pattern? What’s your favourite pattern of hers?

Leave a comment